1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

'Flash Forward' Synopsis and Essential Information


Cast of Flash Forward
Photo Credit: Bob D'Amico © 2009 American Broadcasting Inc.

'Flash Forward' Synopsis:

Based on the sci-fi novel by Robert J. Sawyer, this series follows the repercussions of a cataclysmic event that knocks out the entire population of the world for two minutes and 17 seconds at the same time, allowing everyone to see several months into their own futures. The series main focus is on a group of characters determined to figure out how and why this unprecedented event took place and how they might be able to change their unsettling futures.

Series Premiere:

September 24, 2009

Series Status:

The series was canceled after the first season ended. A total of 22 episodes were produced and aired. Fans of the show tried their hardest to save it from cancellation by staging a "blackout" of their own across the globe.

'Flash Forward' Cast:

  • Joseph Fiennes as Mark Benford
  • John Cho as Demetri Noh
  • Jack Davenport as Lloyd Simcoe
  • Sonya Walger as Olivia Benford
  • Courtney B. Vance as Stan Wedeck
  • Dominic Monaghan as Simon
  • Brian O'Byrne as Aaron Stark
  • Christine Woods as Janis Hawk
  • Zachary Knighton as Bryce Varley
  • Peyton List as Nicole
  • Gabrielle Union as Zoey


  • The series is based on a novel by Robert J. Sawyer, who also serves as one of the series writers.
  • Dominic Monaghan's series status remained a mystery until the Comic-Con Q&A panel in July, 2009. His character, Simon, is considered the smartest man in the world.
  • Series star Joseph Fiennes is the brother of film star Ralph Fiennes.

ABC Wants to Know:

"If you knew what your future held, what would you do"?

Get Acquainted With the Cast:

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. TV Dramas
  4. TV Shows A - Z
  5. Canceled/Ended TV Shows
  6. 'Flash Forward'
  7. Flash Forward - Synopsis and Essential Information About the ABC Series Flash Forward

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.