1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

'The Vampire Diaries' Book Series by L.J. Smith

About.com Rating 4.5 Star Rating


Vampire Diaries Books

'The Vampire Diaries' books feature half of a face. The newer versions feature the actors from the TV series.

Harper Paperbacks

The Bottom Line:
While different than The Vampire Diaries TV Series, these books are just as good. It's clear that the series took its inspiration from the books, but they are very different and both completely worth your time.

The Story:

Elena Gilbert is one of the popular girls in her high school and she is used to getting anything she wants. She lives in the small town of Fells Church with her Aunt Judith and her younger sister, Margaret. Her parents had died in a fatal car accident after she distracted her father when she'd seen something out the window. Elena falls madly in love with the new kid in school, Stefan Salvatore, and before long realizes he's a vampire.

The town is in trouble and Elena works with Stefan and her best friends, Bonnie and Meredith, to right the wrongs. In addition to her struggles with the town, she has to deal with Stefan's vengeful older brother, who falls in love with her and whom she has very strong feelings for as well.


© 2009 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
  • Excellent writing
  • Riveting story
  • Accessible through stores, libraries, eBooks, and audio
  • Lots of books to keep you entertained


  • The 3rd trilogy in the series, The Hunters is not written by L.J. Smith, but is written by a ghostwriter from Alloy Entertainment
  • It's difficult to read the books during the same time period as watching the show because the characters are the same and both outlets have the same basic premise, but the stories are very different


Author: L.J. Smith

Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Books: There are 10 books in the series

  • The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening - 1991
  • The Vampire Diaries: The Struggle - 1991
  • The Vampire Diaries: The Fury - 1991
  • The Vampire Diaries: Dark Reunion - 1991
  • The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Nightfall - February 10, 2009
  • The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Shadow Souls - May 16, 2010
  • The Vampire Diaries: The Return: Midnight - March 15, 2011
  • The Hunters: Phantom
  • The Hunters: Moonsong
  • The Hunters: Eternity

Reading Level: Young Adult

Genre: Horror, Fantasy, Romance

'The Vampire Diaries' Series Book Review

I loved each of the first 7 books so much that I can't even say which is my favorite. I am a huge fan of the show and having watched the show first figured I wouldn't enjoy the books as much, but they are really good and so different from the show. While these are written for young adults, the books have a deepness to them that adults and young adults will both enjoy.

The witting is excellent, the story is riveting, and there is nothing predictable about the outcome. L.J. Smith has captured the angst of a 16 year old caught in an impossible situation.

The Hunters trilogy continues with our main characters, focusing on Stefan and Elena in college, but because it's not written by the author who created these vivid characters I'm reluctant to read them.

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. TV Dramas
  4. TV Shows A - Z
  5. 'Vampire Diaries, The'
  6. The Vampire Diaries Book Series Review

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.